anomalous motion illusion…the tattoo that dare not speak its name

Posted by resonanteye on 12/24/2009

anomalous motion tattooanomalous motion tattooSpent a few hours working on this. Yes, I had a migraine afterwards. Yes there were moments when I felt green and had to look away. Most of those moments came along during the last hour, when the majority of the piece had been finished, and I could begin to see a bit of movement even when I was up close on it. I took some excedrin and had a few drinks after work, that helped bring me back to normal. My eyes were skewy for a few hours after I was done working.

It was a challenge and I am so stoked that I got to do this! I love anomalous motion illusions. I really wanted to do at least one of them, try to make it work on skin. This was a good start. I’ve got a few more of these on the way.

What an awesome day!

Why these work: Your brain sees the shadow of the shapes, or areas that converge, as possible movement. Since there’s a lag between your eye seeing it and your brain understanding it, images like this appear to move. Your peripheral vision and your direct focus have a time lag as well.

Your brain interprets the image as conatining motion. In this one people may see radiating spikes of shadow that move around, or motion into or out of the center, or vibration.

Anomalous motion is your mind playing tricks on you, basically.

A more concrete explanation.

work I have done that is somewhat psychedelic/op-art

 the most maddening stencil to create, hands down.this one was too dark/confusing.

the most maddening stencil to create, hands down.this one was too dark/confusing.

8 Responses to “anomalous motion illusion…the tattoo that dare not speak its name”

  1. test.com said

    Have you eveer thought about adding a littrle bit more than just your articles?
    I mean,what you say is important and all.
    Nevertheless think about if you added some great picures or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips, this website could certainly be one of the very best
    in its field. Good blog!

    Like

  2. […] OP ART TATTOOS […]

    Like

  3. […] Hit me up via email (resonanteye at gmail) and let me know if you’re interested. I have a couple people on the line now for some more anomalous motion stuff. […]

    Like

  4. By the way if anyone wants to post links to this or republish the post, go ahead, just make sure to link it back to me and attribute it as my tattoo artwork. Thanks!

    Like

  5. Cool tattoo and nice color work as well. I love optical tattoos. No purpose other then to be obnoxious.

    Like

  6. disha said

    Is this a real tattoo? If yes, We’d love to use it on our blog with your permission.

    Like

  7. yup. drop me an email.

    Like

  8. mosaiq said

    Hey,
    Would you be interested in a link exchange?

    Like

SPEAK UP, leave a comment.

 
