youth of today

Posted by resonanteye on 09/17/2013

I once came to the conclusion that I usually have dated younger men because men my age are bitter old farts who just want to complain or make babies. I don’t think this is true in all cases but …

I do enjoy being around someone my own age and when I go out with guys my age or close to it I get really happy because the weird stuff I think about they just…get it right away. There’s no explaining why “piano wire and a block of ice” is a funny reference when I see an emo kid, or why singing a certain riff from xray spex is awesome, why long duck dong said fast makes me giggle, why I think jocks suck, or or or…

I was born in the early 70s. I remember watching the monkees on tv. I remember brown and orange and avocado green rugs. I remember not worrying about accepting candy from strangers (much). I remember a lot of stuff that just…doesn’t exist after about 1981.

And I was just old enough during the 80s to finally take part in the culture. Like during the 70s I listened to the music my parents played, but once I was 12 or 13 I started getting my own records and watching my own movies that I liked. I started being able to create and participate in my cultural environment, and ever since certain things have had a very warm place in my heart.

I was a geeky, dirty, awkward kid. I didn’t have a lot of friends. Then I went to a punk rock show and people talked to me! Nobody really cared what I looked like, because I could write and draw and add and was smart. They made me tapes, took me in when stuff was rough at home, and showed me how to spike my hair. I found people that cared about the same stuff I cared about…I tried many ways of living. I experimented with my own life in ways I never would have thought were possible without their influences.

I tried everything.

I still do.

I wonder how it is for people younger than me- if the roles we cut out for ourselves then broke in that scene ever carried over? If they feel stuffed into boxes, if any of them escape how we did? In groups or alone? I see very few younger people that are really different from the majority … I see few leading the way to the future, really thinking about it. I like it a lot when I DO see it, though.

I hope I haven’t lost all my vanity, enthusiasm, all my drive to change the world. I’m doing it in different ways of course but I still have hope that it can be done…and that I think is what I miss in men my own age or older. I love extremism, idealism…I want more of that. No matter someone’s age.

This is really just more rambling. Glad you guys keep reading it all…I don’t know how you manage.

 

 

originally written in june, 2010

4 Responses to “youth of today”

  1. Jim said

    I don’t want to complain and make babies. I just want to complain and fart….

    Anyway, I have much to say about kids these days, myself.
    First, kids these days, they got no respect!
    Second, get the fuck off my lawn!

    Moving on… You and I had the advantage of growing up in a world that wasn’t completely connected by the internet via smartphones. I’ve thought for many years now that anyone born before 1990 is the last generation of the analogue age. When we were coming of age in the 1980’s, if you saw another freak at the mall or whatever, you were instantly friends with that person. You knew right away that they felt out of place just like yourself. There was an instant bond and commonality. If there was a show going on somewhere you couldn’t just look at your phone and figure out in a couple minutes who/when/how much/and directions. You had to go on a treasure hunt to find a flyer on a random telephone pole and hope that you could figure out what neighborhood it was in. Does the bus go there? Do I have money for the bus, or better yet, do I know someone with a car and a license? HOW CAN WE GET BEER AND/OR HIGH?! Now, I’m sure kids these days have just as much fun finding out about shows (or whatever they’re into), and they go and they have a lot of fun and all that. But I think the way you and I and others like us had to figure it out back then, often by accident, made it a more savory memory. And a lot of these functions were illegal, or at least thrown with no permission from the property owner. I’m sure you remember these clubs. The places you’d walk into the for the first time and it felt and looked and smelled and tasted like it was a secret base of operations for the resistance movement in a communist bloc country. And everyone was have a FAN-FUCKING-TASTIC time!

    As I eluded to before, I’m sure similar things like this still happen for these kids today, but I think what they are lacking, and missing out on (unfortunately), is an actual counter culture of the youth. I’ve tried looking for it for about the last 15 or 20 years with no success. I thought I may have found it a couple times, but was gravely mistaken when it turned out to just be groups of elitist hipsters pretending that they found out about everything first. This is why the 1990’s pissed me off so much. The music industry back then took everything about the only culture I ever felt I belonged to and completely bastardized it with bands like Nirvana and Pearl Jam and a bunch of other bullshit. I had to find my own music by taking chances at record stores with what little money I had, meanwhile, these poor saps had this shit face-fucked down their throats with bud-light commercials and super-bowl half-time shows, all the while declaring how much of an individual they were….. with 30 million other motherfuckers doing the same exact god damned thing. In their eagerness to declare themselves “individuals” and “outsiders” they merely ended up striving to be part of the flock. (also an unfortunate circumstance for many of the clients in your industry)

    You’ll remember that when I first met you guys it was 1997 or 98. I had a huge self esteem problem. Again, a lot of that was because of what happened in the 90’s with music and youth culture. And that’s why I liked you so much, because I knew you had been where I was. You had seen the dirty little underground shows, you knew about cool underground bands. There was a familiar “dirtiness” with you guys that I remembered from the 80’s. Somehow you were able to manage your way through all that bullshit from the 90’s and move on, or at least go with the flow. I admire/envy that. But that’s definitely why I’m still friends with you today. I think if you were just another idiot that jumped on the bandwagon I wouldn’t have stuck around.

    It’s funny that you posted this when you did. We hired a new girl at my work a few weeks ago. She’s only 17. Music has come up a few times. She’s showed me a few bands she likes, and I hate to say it, they are boring as fuck. Same ol rehashed 90’s bullshit. She says she’s into all sorts of music, and I am impressed that she can sing along with ABBA or the Stones or Queen, but I’m hugely disappointed when she doesn’t know who New Order or Joy Division or the Dead Kennedy’s are. Poor girl has no idea that everything she’s listening to now owes something to the bands I mentioned. Just as those bands owe something to what was going on in the 70’s and 60’s, and so on.

    I fully understand that I just may sound like a bitter old fart, and I would tend to agree, albeit reluctantly. However, it is true that these kids today don’t really have a counter culture that they can claim as their own. And as I’ve said, that’s unfortunate.

    Anyway, I’m pretty sure I don’t know what the fuck I’m talking about. Goodbye.

    Like

  2. aNutShell said

    this is your best “ramble” ever.

    Like

SPEAK UP, leave a comment.

 
