Are tattoo artists rich?

Posted by resonanteye on 10/21/2014

some are, some aren’t.
most are able to get by. the fact that we do what we love for a living makes us all rich, though.

2a62883f6a5facde8cd4ba3b8f98258b-d4d2ojnI love it when people assume I’m rich. “I just gave her $500!!! and she’s doing another tattoo right after me!”
The sad truth is that I am not the top of my field. My prices are average for the cities I work in. I’m not a superstar, and I make less than a plumber. In fact, I earn, yearly, a bit less than a good schoolteacher.

Of course some tattoo artists make bank. They might work seven days a week, or have a supernatural talent; they could be working in an area with only one or two shops competing with them. They might simply be a hell of a lot better than me at talking to people, promoting themselves, or making tattoos. But even those guys aren’t millionaires. They’re earning what a plumber might earn…unless they own a shop. Some shop owners ascend into the millions, for sure. But…

View original post 1,384 more words

SPEAK UP, leave a comment.

 
